http://www.greeleygazette.com – October 30, 2011

ARE WE TEACHING INTEGRITY BY EXAMPLE?

By: Carol Clemans

In today’s breaking news there is an accusation against a man who is in politics who wants to be President of America. He’s being accused of some type of sexual harassment in the 90’s. I do not know if this is ‘dirty’ politics or if this accusation is based on truth. But it brings up the thought of a scripture ‘be sure your sin will find you out’ – Numbers 32:23.

I heard it said today, “Teach your children to love God with all their heart, soul, mind and strength.” The thought immediately came to me that the ‘loudest’ teaching we can do is by example. If we love God with our whole heart, soul, mind and strength, it means that we are persons of integrity. The definition of integrity is the quality of being honest and having strong moral principles and moral uprightness.

The greatest lessons we can give our children are by our example. It is possible to live a life of integrity. It’s called choice. I have been blessed to know people of integrity. Their actions said integrity. Their words said integrity. In the light as well as in the darkness they had integrity. It does not mean someone is perfect. It means there is a willingness to ask for forgiveness when a mistake is made and that is being honest.

This is what my children at the age of 14 & 18 told me when I was asked to teach a parenting seminar with one day to prepare. I asked each child separately what had impacted their lives the most being raised in our home. They did not know the reason. Their answers were similar, “Your love of God and love for each other and your willingness to be honest.” It brought tears to my eyes then and now.

It’s a great feeling when you do not have to worry about ‘a sin that will find you out.’ Again, it’s called choice. When we choose to be honest and have strong moral principles, we don’t have to worry about our past or present. It’s because I love God with my whole heart, soul, mind and strength that I strive to be a person of integrity. I give God the glory because I want my life to reflect His character. It’s appointed unto man once to die and then the judgment. When we have a relationship of integrity with God, we are teaching our children by example. If they follow our example of integrity, their life on earth and in heaven will be victorious. That’s the goal I want to reach.

Carol Clemans is a Cert. Pastoral Counselor/Christian Life Coach/inspirational Bible teacher for conferences. She provides counseling nationwide by phone & web cam (636) 448-0121. Carol’s book, GOD’S DESIGN FOR MARRIAGE is available – http://www.carolclemans.org